Playlist for
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
August 2, 2007

Hosted by Greg Lyon on Thursdays at 2-4 pm
on WPVM Asheville (103.5 FM and

This show is available as an archive for one week after its airing at
WPVM’s Archive Page (click on the STREAM button for this show–under the letter ‘G’)

Notes on this week’s program:

– This was the no-rock-out show, at least for an hour and a half or so. Sorta. The first set was mostly new stuff I liked from the “experimental” bin. I particularly like the palindromic lute music of Jozef van Wissem, partly because the lute sounds really nice, but mostly because of the concept behind composition and the weird ambient found-sound stuff in the background. Nicely done.

– Playing John Fahey is, quite frankly, lazy on my part.

– You could also say it was lazy to play a 25-minute track for the next set, but I really love that Karuna Khyal CD and decided it was time to inflict it on the audience. It would seem that the CD is an unauthorized reissue, since Paradigm Discs states in the packaging that they are “interested in any communication with Voice Records, Brast Burn, Karuna Khyal, Toshiyuki Nemoto and Nakano record shop.” I was also unable to find out anything about the record other than it was released on Voice Records in Japan in 1975 (or is it 1976, or 1974?). The album’s title “Alomoni 1985” is of course misleading, since it was released about a decade before 1985. And the album cover (see right) is, I think, oddly creepy. Some websites claim that Karuna Khyal is the same outfit as Brast Burn, whose record “Debon” was also reissued by Paradigm Discs at the same time. It’s all very mysterious. But if you’re interested in a Japanese psych reading of Beefheart through a Krautrock (mostly Faust) prism, Karuna Khyal is for you. Obviously, it was destined for me.

– I finally picked up the Omar Souleyman CD on Sublime Frequencies. THAT is money well spent. I like it better than the much more expensive vinyl-only Group Doueh on the same label, although the latter is also growing on me.

– My recent dub excursions were in part spurred on by a Primer article on Jamaican Deejays in the Dec 2005 issue of The Wire magazine. I’m going to try to work through some of the stuff in that article on the air in the coming weeks. Stay tuned.

– Reigning Sound played Saturday at Asheville’s Grey Eagle. Greg Cartwright and crew didn’t play much from Too Much Guitar, and the sound was oddly muffled, but it was pretty enjoyable, nonetheless. Golden Boys warmed up, but I admit I missed almost all of their set.

– Scat Records’ compilation of both records by mid-80s Cleveland pop indie rock band The Mice is superb, even if a lot of the tracks on it are mastered from vinyl copies of the originals. Bill Fox, the musical leader of the Mice and later singer-songwriter, was written up in the recent music issue of The Believer magazine. It’s a nice piece about the author’s quest to find and interview Fox, who has quit the music biz and is now a serious recluse. Ultimately, the author hangs out with a bunch of Fox’s friends in Cleveland and gives up meeting the man himself, who doesn’t want to be “on the internet”. Thus, the article is not available through The Believer’s website. I’ll play some of Fox’s solo work in the next couple of weeks, I think.


* = new at WPVM
+ = new, not at WPVM (yet)
(c) = compilation

Background Music: Andrew Hill – Nefertiti (Inner City, 1979)

* Jozef van Wissem – Low Mass – Stations of the Cross (Incunabulum)
John Fahey – America – America (Takoma)
* Jonathan Badger – Egret – Metasonic (High Horse)
* Takeshi Nishimoto – Rider – Monologue (Büro)
Karuna Khyal – Side A – Alomoni 1985 (Paradigm Discs)
Omar Souleyman – Leh Jani (When I Found Out) – Highway to Hassake (Sublime Frequencies)
* Group Doueh – Cheyla Ya Haiuune – Guitar Music from the Western Sahara (Sublime Frequencies)
+ Original Silence – If Light Has No Age, Time Has No Shadow – The First Original Silence (Smalltown Superjazzz)
* Dub Trio – Drive By Dub – Cool Out and Coexist (ROIR)
* 10 Ft. Ganja Plant – Rebel in the Hills – Presents (ROIR)
(c) The Astronauts – Syncopate – The Trojan Story (Trojan)
Reigning Sound – When You Touch Me – Too Much Guitar (In the Red)
+ Golden Boys – Yankee Dollar – Whiskey Flower (Emperor Jones)
Mary Weiss (with Reigning Sound) – Don’t Come Back – Dangerous Game (Norton)
Raymond Scott & The Secret 7 – And the Cow Jumped Over the Moon – Unexpected (Basta)
Magazine – Because You’re Frightened – The Correct Use of Soap (Virgin)
The Mice – Downtown – For Almost Ever Scooter (Scat)
Hasil Adkins – Gimme Back My Ring – Peanut Butter Rock and Roll (Norton)

Comments are closed.