Home BlitzPlaylist for
The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
September 6, 2007

Hosted by Greg Lyon on Thursdays at 2-4 pm
on WPVM Asheville (103.5 FM and www.wpvm.org)


— “Whoa-uh. I gotta get some gum. One second…” That my friends, is the greatest line of any garage punk song I’ve heard literally in years. And I have one Daniel DiMaggio of Home Blitz to thank for it. Yeah, I know the guy, and I like him and all that (we both worked at WPRB in Princeton, New Jersey, where he’s done amazing radio shows since he was in high school), but even if I didn’t, I’m sure I would recognize the sublime quality, the heart-wrenching honesty, the agonizing post-adolescent beauty, the breathtaking attention to detail, and utter craftsmanship of this slab of metal and plastic. And yes, I’m shitting you. It’s about as subtle as the Electric Eels, or even less so, and that’s fine by me. If you want to read an interview with Daniel–and believe me, you do–go to the Slippy Town website.

— The punk jazz skronk of 16-17 was my biggest discovery of the week. They were a 3-piece (sax, guitar and electronics, drums) from Basel, Switzerland, which marks the second week in a row that I’ve pushed something from Switzerland. Go figure. 16-17’s early recordings from the 1980s are now available in a 2-CD set from Savage Land Records, and you can read more about them at their website there. Sick sick sick. I’ll say no more than that.

* = Heavy Rotation at WPVM
+ = New but not (yet) at WPVM
(c) = compilation

Background Music: Sonny Rollins – A Night at the Village Vanguard

Roland Kirk – Slippery, Hippery, Flippery – Rip, Rig and Panic (Limelight)
+ Alan Sondheim / Ritual All 770 – [track 4] – The Songs (Fire Museum)
* Nina Nastasia & Jim White – The Day I Would Bury You – You Follow Me (Fat Cat)
Scout Niblett – Relax – Kidnapped by Neptune (Too Pure)
Ekkehard Ehlers – Strange Things – A Life without Fear (Staubgold)
* Voice of the Seven Woods – Sayat Nova – s/t (B-Music)
Magma – Malaria – s/t (Philips)
Amon Düül II – Restless Skylight-Transistor Child – Tanz der Lemminge (Liberty)
* Pontiak – Shell & Skull – Sun on Sun (Fireproof)
Boss Hog – Some Sara – Girl Positive Plus (Toy’s Factory)
* Angels of Light – Not Here/Not Now – We Are Him (Young God)
Born Heller – I Want To – Born Heller (Locust)
The Who – Leaving Here – BBC Sessions (MCA)
(c) The Elastic Band – Spazz – Pebbles Vol. 1
* Turbo Fruits – Volcano – s/t (Ecstatic Peace!)
* Home Blitz – Hey! – Home Blitz (Gulcher)
Tokyo Electron – Hangman’s Song – Tokyo Electron (Empty)
* Harlan T. Bobo – God’s Lamb – I’m Your Man (Goner)
* Prinzhorn Dance School – Black Bunker – s/t (DFA)
Ikara Colt – One Note – One Note CD EP (Fantastic Plastic)
16–17 – Eva – Early Recordings (Savage Land)
* New Ghost – Eyewitness – Live Upstairs at Nick’s (ESP-Disk)
George Adams / James ‘Blood’ Ulmer Quartet – Recess – Jazzbühne Berlin ’85 (Repertoire)
Lyn Collins – Mama Feelgood – James Brown’s Funky People (Polydor)
Curtis Mayfield – Future Shock – Back to the World (Curtom/Charly)
* Michael Garrick Trio – Moonscape – Moonscape (Trunk)

Comments are closed.